Yobe State SUBEB recruitment portal   Akwa Ibom State Polytechnic Massive Recruitment for Academic and Non-Academic Staff
Connect with us


Check Out The States Controlled By PDP, APC After Edo Election (Full List)



Nigeria operates a multi-party electoral system however, currently, two major political parties are dominating the political landscape in the country.

They are the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

At every election time, the parties do all they can to ensure members of the public vote for their party and their candidate(s).

The 2020 Edo governorship election held on Saturday, 19th September 2020, and was contested by 14 political parties and their candidates.

However, Godwin Obaseki who contested on the platform of the PDP, polled 307,955 votes to defeat all other candidates including Osagie Ize-Iyamu, candidate of the APC, who secured 223,619 votes.

Edo state before the defection of Obaseki to PDP in the build-up to the governorship election was controlled by the APC but has now become a PDP state as well.

There are 36 states in Nigeria and Naija News has now done a compilation of the political party in charge of the administration of each state.

After Saturday’s election in Edo State, PDP now controls sixteen (16) sates while the APC controls nineteen (19). The only exception not controlled by any of the two parties is Anambra State, which is controlled by the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).

Below is the breakdown of states in Nigeria controlled by the APC and PDP.

PDP States

(1). Edo State – PDP

(2). Rivers State – PDP

(3). Delta State – PDP

(4). Bayelsa State – PDP

(5). Cross River State – PDP

(6). Akwa Ibom State – PDP

(7). Enugu State – PDP

(8). Ebonyi State – PDP

(9). Benue State – PDP

(10). Oyo State – PDP

(11). Adamawa State – PDP

(12). Bauchi State – PDP

(13). Abia State – PDP

(14). Zamfara State – PDP

(15). Sokoto State – PDP

(16). Taraba State – PDP

APC States

(1). Borno State – APC

(2). Imo State – APC

(3). Kano State – APC

(4). Kaduna State – APC

(5). Nasarawa State – APC

(6). Kogi State – APC

(7). Niger State – APC

(8). Plateau State – APC

(9). Jigawa State – APC

(10). Kastina State – APC

(11). Kwara State – APC

(12). Kebbi State – APC

(13). Lagos State – APC

(14). Ogun State – APC

(15). Yobe State – APC

(17). Ekiti State – APC

(18). Osun State – APC

(19). Ondo State – APC

Hot Nigerian Jobs 2020

The views expressed in this article are the writer’s opinion, they do not reflect the views of the Publisher of NEWS 4 NAIJA. Please report any fake news , misinformation or defamatory statements to [email protected]


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending News